Virginia Real Estate License Requirements

The Virginia Real Estate Board oversees all real estate matters in the state of Virginia. The types of real estate licenses the board currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Virginia are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Virginia salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check. Fingerprints may be submitted electronically at the testing site.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Virginia salesperson license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete 60 classroom hours of the Principles of Real Estate course.

Virginia Real Estate License Requirements

Virginia Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the national portion of the salesperson exam with 56 correct answers and the state portion with 30 correct answers. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 105 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 45 minute time limit.

A Virginia salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in Virginia.

All first-time salesperson licensees must complete 30 classroom hours of post license education within one year of initial licensing, which must include:
Two hours of Fair Housing, ADA and Civil Rights
Eight hours of Real Estate Law and Regulation
Three hours of Ethics and Standards of Conduct
Two hours of Current Industry Issues and Trends
Three hours of Agency Law
Six hours of Contract Writing
Three hours of Risk Management
Three hours of Escrow Requirements

After completing the post license education, an Active/Transfer application must be submitted.

After the first renewal, salesperson licensees must complete 16 hours of continuing education during each two year renewal period.

Applicants applying for a salesperson license by reciprocity in another state must:
Have held the same license in that other state for at least 12 of the prior 36 months OR complete the 60 hour salesperson prelicense education course.
Pass the state portion of the salesperson exam.
Submit a certificate of license history for each state applicant has been licensed in.


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Virginia broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check. Fingerprints may be submitted electronically at the testing site.

At least 36 months of active real estate experience during the past 48 preceding months is required.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete 180 classroom hours a broker prelicense education course, which must include either three of the following courses:
Real Estate Appraisal
Real Estate Finance
Real Estate Law

or

Two of the courses listed above and one of the following:
Real Estate Abstracting
Real Estate Contract Law
Real Estate Economics
Real Estate Feasibility Analysis
Real Estate Investments
Real Estate Math
Real Estate Property Management
Real Estate Property Law
CCIM (all parts)
CRB (all parts)
GRI (all parts)
SIR/SIOR (all parts)
Business Law
Commercial Mortgage Lending
Land Planning and Use
Urban Development

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the national portion of the broker exam with 60 correct answers and the state portion with 38 correct answers. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 105 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 50 questions with a 55 minute time limit.

A Virginia broker license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam.

All salesperson licensees must complete 24 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period.

Applicants applying for a broker license by reciprocity in another state must:
Have held the same license in that other state for at least 36 of the prior 48 months.
Pass the state portion of the broker exam.
Submit a certificate of license history for each state applicant has been licensed in.


References:

Virginia Association of Realtors: Realtors FAQ: http://www.varealtor.com/FAQ

Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation: Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin: February 28 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=109&bulletinurl=.pdf

Virginia Real Estate Board: Post License Education: http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Real-Estate/Post-License/

Virginia Real Estate Board: Pre-License Education: http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Real-Estate/Pre-License/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *