Utah Real Estate License Requirements

The Utah Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Utah. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Utah are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Utah salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check. Digital fingerprinting services are available at the following Utah testing centers: Midvale, Ogden and Provo.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Utah salesperson license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete 120 hours of salesperson prelicense education courses.

Utah Real Estate License Requirements

Utah Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and general salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions. The state portion of the exam consists of 50 questions.

A Utah salesperson license application must be submitted within 90 days of passing the exam and within one year of completing the prelicense education.

All salesperson licensees must complete a minimum of 18 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period, which must include at least 9 hours of Core courses and 9 hours of Elective courses. All new real estate agents are required to take the 12 hour New Agent Course in order to renew their license.

Utah has reciprocal agreements with the following states and jurisdictions:
Georgia
Mississippi
Alberta, Canada

Fees to obtain a Utah salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $66
Salesperson License Application Fee: $100
Recovery Fund Fee: $12
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $40


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Utah broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check. Digital fingerprinting services are available at the following Utah testing centers: Midvale, Ogden and Provo.

At least three years of real estate experience is required to obtain a Utah broker license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete 120 hours of broker prelicense education courses, which must include:
Part 1 Utah Law 30 hours, including 3 hours of testing
Part 2 Broker Principles 45 hours, including 4 hours of testing
Part 3 Broker Practices 45 hours, including 4 hours of testing

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and general broker exam with a minimum score of 75%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions. The state portion consists of 50 questions.

A Utah broker license application must be submitted within 90 days of passing the exam and within one year of completing the prelicense education.

All broker licensees must complete a minimum of 18 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period, which must include at least 9 hours of Core courses and 9 hours Elective courses. All new real estate agents are required to take the 12 hour New Agent Course in order to renew their license.

Utah has reciprocal agreements with the following states and jurisdictions:
Georgia
Mississippi
Alberta, Canada

Fees to obtain a Utah broker license include:
Exam Fee: $66
Broker License Application Fee: $100
Recovery Fund Fee: $18
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $40


References:

Utah Real Estate Candidate Handbook: September 2013: http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/094500.pdf

Utah Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate: Licensed Sales Agent Registration: http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/salesagent.html

Utah Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate: Real Estate Reciprocity Agreement: http://realestate.utah.gov/forms/re-reciprocity_pkt_fillable2.pdf

Utah Department of Commerce Division of Real Estate: http://realestate.utah.gov/realestate/index.html


Comments

Utah Real Estate License Requirements — 2 Comments

  1. I am a California RE Broker, are the requirements any different for me to obtain a broker or sales person license in Utah.
    Thanks,

    • There’s no reciprocal agreement between California and Utah, if that is what you’re asking. Otherwise, the requirements to obtain a Utah real estate license are listed in the article.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *