Texas Real Estate License Requirements

The Texas Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Texas. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Texas are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Texas salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Texas salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 180 hours of prelicense education, which includes:
60 classroom hours of Principles of Real Estate
30 classroom hours of Law of Agency
30 classroom hours of Law of Contracts
30 classroom hours of Promulgated Contracts Forms
30 classroom hours of Real Estate Finance

Texas Real Estate License Requirements

Texas Real Estate License Requirements

An application to take the salesperson exam must be submitted after completing the prelicense education requirements. Exam must be taken within one year of submitting application.

Applicant must pass the state portion of the salesperson exam with 21 correct answers and the national portion with 56 correct answers. The state portion consists of 30 questions with a 45 minute time limit and the national portion consists of 80 questions with a 105 minute time limit.

A Texas salesperson license application must be submitted after passing the exam along with a salesperson sponsorship form.
If applicant is not sponsored by a licensed real estate broker, the applicant must submit an Application for an Inactive Salesperson License.

Applicants who applied after September 1, 2012 must complete a total of 270 classroom hours of core and related real estate education by the end of the second year of licensing (180 hours of which were fulfilled by completing the prelicense education requirement.)
Applicants who applied on or after January 1, 2006 must complete 270 classroom hours of core and related real estate education by the end of the first year of licensing (210 hours of which were fulfilled by completing the prelicense education requirement.)
Applicants who applied prior to January 1, 2006 must complete 270 classroom hours of core and related real estate education by the end of the third year of licensing.

After completing the Salesperson Apprentice Education requirements, applicants must complete 15 classroom hours of continuing education courses during each two-year renewal period (6 of which include the Legal & Ethics course).
Designated brokers, brokers who sponsor salespersons or salespersons who are delegated supervisors of one or more license holders must attend a 6 hour Broker Responsibility Course as part of the 15 classroom hours.

Texas does not have any reciprocal agreements with any other states.

Fees to obtain a Texas salesperson license include:
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $41.45
Background Check Fee: $31.50
Real Estate Recovery Fee: $10
Initial Salesperson License Fee: $163
Conversion from Broker to Salesperson Fee: $159
Salesperson Renewal Fee: $122
Salesperson Late Renewal Fee: $161 (late 90 days or less)
Salesperson Late Renewal Fee: $200 (late 90 days to six months)
Salesperson Reinstatement Fee: $159


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Texas broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints and undergo a criminal background check.

At least four years of active real estate experience during the previous 60 months is required to obtain a Texas broker license.
Applicants licensed as a real estate broker in another state must also have at least 4 years of active real estate experience during the previous 60 months.

Applicant must complete 270 classroom hours of core real estate courses, which must include 30 classroom hours in a Real Estate Brokerage course and complete an additional 630 classroom hours in related or core courses approved by the Texas Real Estate Commission.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state portion of the broker exam with 30 correct answers and the national portion with 60 correct answers. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 45 minute time limit and the national portion consists of 80 question with a 105 minute time limit.

A Texas broker license application must be submitted within one year of completing prelicense education courses and passing exam.

All broker licensees must complete 15 classroom hours of continuing education courses during each two-year renewal period (6 of which include the Legal & Ethics course.)
Designated brokers, brokers who sponsor salespersons or salespersons who are delegated supervisors of one or more license holders must attend a 6 hour Broker Responsibility Course as part of the 15 classroom hours.

Licensed attorneys in Texas are exempt from the broker license requirements. Licensed attorneys are legally authorized to do everything a broker can do except sponsor a salesperson and split a commission.

Texas does not have any reciprocal agreements with any other states.

Fees to obtain a Texas broker license include:
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $41.45
Background Check Fee: $31.50
Real Estate Recovery Fee: $10
Initial Individual Broker License Fee: $364
Individual Broker Renewal Fee: $523
Individual Broker Late Renewal Fee: $562 (late 90 days or less)
Individual Broker Late Renewal Fee: $601 (late 90 days to six months)
Broker Reinstatement Fee: $564


References:

State of Texas Real Estate Salesperson and Broker Candidate Information Brochure: March 9 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=35&bulletinurl=.pdf

Texas Real Estate Commission: Out-Of-State Licensing: https://www.trec.state.tx.us/licenses/OutOfStateLicensing.asp#coming

Texas Real Estate Commission: Enforcement Frequently Asked Questions: http://www.trec.state.tx.us/faq/faq-enf.asp

Texas Real Estate Commission: Fee Schedule: http://www.trec.state.tx.us/licenses/fee_schedule.asp

Texas Real Estate Commission: Education Information for Licensees: https://www.trec.state.tx.us/education/main-licensees.asp

Texas Real Estate Commission: Real Estate License Forms http://www.trec.state.tx.us/formslawscontracts/forms/forms-r.e.app.asp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *