Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements

The Tennessee Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Tennessee. The commission currently operates on a broker-only licensing system. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are affiliate broker and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [affiliate broker] or broker in Tennessee are as follows:

AFFILIATE BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Tennessee affiliate broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must disclose any prior criminal convictions, including traffic violations that are alcohol or drug related. Applicant must also disclose any prior professional license or real estate licenses that have been suspended, revoked, reprimanded or fined.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Tennessee affiliate broker license.

Applicant must complete 60 hours of prelicense education in real estate principles/fundamentals.

Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements

Tennessee Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must complete a Broker Examination application. Application must be approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission before taking the exam.

Applicant must pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 70%. The state portion consists of 40 questions and the national portion consists of 80 questions.

A Tennessee affiliate broker license application must be submitted within six months of passing the exam along with proof of Errors & Omission insurance.

Brokers licensed after Jan 1 2001, must complete 120 hours of approved continuing education courses during the first 3 years of licensures. Failure to completed the post license education requirements will result in a non-issuance of a broker license.
Brokers licensed after Jan 1, 2005 must complete continuing education courses after completing the 120 hours of post license education requirements.

Tennessee has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Arkansas
Connecticut
Georgia
Iowa
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
South Dakota
Virginia
West Virginia


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Tennessee broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must disclose any prior criminal convictions, including traffic violations that are alcohol or drug related. Applicant must disclose any prior professional license or real estate licenses that have been suspended, revoked, reprimanded or fined.

Applicants must meet one of the following experience criteria:
Have 24 months of active real estate experience, if licensed as an affiliate broker on or before May 12, 1988.
Have 36 months of active real estate experience, if licensed as an affiliate broker on or before May 12, 1988.
Have 24 months of active real estate experience, if the applicant has a Bachelor’s degree with a major in real estate.

Applicant must complete 120 hours of prelicense education requirements, which must include:
30 hours of an Office/Managing Broker course.

A Broker Examination application must be submitted after completing the prelicense education requirements. Application must be approved by the Tennessee Real Estate Commission before taking the exam.

Applicant must pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 70%. The state portion consists of 50 questions and the broker portion consists of 90 questions.

A Tennessee broker license application must be submitted within six months of passing the exam along with proof of Errors & Omission insurance.

Brokers licensed after Jan 1 2001, must complete 120 hours of approved continuing education courses during the first 3 years of licensures. Failure to completed the post license education requirements will result in a non-issuance of a broker license.
Brokers licensed after Jan 1, 2005 must complete continuing education courses after completing the 120 hours of post license education requirements.

Tennessee has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Arkansas
Connecticut
Georgia
Iowa
Louisiana
Massachusetts
Mississippi
New Mexico
North Carolina
North Dakota
South Dakota
Virginia
West Virginia


References:

Tennessee Real Estate Commission: Tennessee Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin: February 1 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=118&bulletinurl=.pdf

Tennessee Real Estate Commission: FAQ: http://www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/documents/FAQ.pdf

Tennessee Real Estate Commission: License Requirements: http://www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/req_license.shtml

Tennessee Real Estate Commission: https://www.tn.gov/regboards/trec/req_license.shtml


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *