South Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

The South Carolina Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of South Carolina. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in South Carolina are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a South Carolina salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Residency in the state of South Carolina is not required.

Applicant must disclose any criminal convictions, charges, arrests or any sanctions by a real estate licensing agency.

Applicant must also submit a credit report to the commission.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a South Carolina salesperson license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete a 60 hour course in the fundamentals of real estate approved by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.

South Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

South Carolina Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state portion of the salesperson exam with 21 correct answers and the national portion with 56 correct answers. The state portion of the exam consists of 30 questions with a 60 minute time limit. The national portion consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit.

A provisional salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in South Carolina.

All first-time salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of post-licensing education approved by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission during first year of licensing. Upon completing the post-license education, applicant must submit an application for a permanent salesperson license. Failure to meet this education requirement will result in the cancellation of the provisional salesperson license.

After the first renewal period, all licensees must complete four hours of elective and four hours of core real estate continuing education courses every two years.

Applicants with a law degree or Bachelor’s Degree in real estate are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.

South Carolina has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Georgia
West Virginia

Fees to obtain a South Carolina salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $63
License Upgrade from Provisional Salesperson to Salesperson Fee: $25
Salesperson License Application Fee: $35 (includes $10 for a credit report)
Salesperson License Fee: $25


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a South Carolina broker license, applicant must be at least 21 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Residency in South Carolina is not required.

Applicant must disclose any criminal convictions, charges, arrests or any sanctions by a real estate licensing agency.

Applicant must also submit a credit report to the commission.

At least three years of real estate salesperson experience within the past five years is required to obtain a South Carolina broker or broker-in-charge license. Applicants with out-of-state experience must submit a Certificate of Licensure, including history, education and disciplinary action from each state in which they held a real estate license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete 150 hours of pre-license education courses approved by the South Carolina Real Estate Commission.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state portion of the broker exam with 26 correct answers and national portion with 60 correct answers. The state portion of the exam consists of 35 questions with a 60 minute time limit. The national portion consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit.

A South Carolina broker or broker-in-charge license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam.

All broker or broker-in-charge licensees must complete four hours of elective and four hours of core real estate continuing education courses every two years.

Applicants with a law degree or Bachelor’s Degree in real estate are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.

South Carolina has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Georgia
West Virginia

Fees to obtain a South Carolina broker or broker-in-charge license include:
Exam Fee: $63
Broker License Application Fee: $35 (includes $10 for a credit report)
Broker License Fee: $125
Broker-in-Charge License Fee: $250


References:

South Carolina Real Estate Commission Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation: Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin: February 1 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=100&bulletinurl=.pdf

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/REC/recpdf/doc110.pdf

South Carolina Real Estate Commission: FAQ: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Rec/FAQ_Licensure.HTM

South Carolina Real Estate Commission: Fees: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/rec/index.asp?file=fees.htm

South Carolina Real Estate Commission: http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Rec/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *