Rhode Island Real Estate License Requirements

The Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation oversees all real estate matters in the state of Rhode Island. The types of real estate licenses the department currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Rhode Island are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Rhode Island salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old.

Applicant must undergo a criminal background check.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Rhode Island salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 45 hours of pre-license education, which includes a three hour course on New Agency Law and a three hour course on Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation.

Rhode Island Real Estate License Requirements

Rhode Island Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70%.

A Rhode Island salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in Rhode Island.

All Rhode Island salesperson licensees must complete 18 hours of continuing education courses during each renewal period.

Effective May 27, 2009, attorneys are no longer exempt from the continuing education requirements.

Rhode Island has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Connecticut
Massachusetts

Fees to obtain a Rhode Island salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $70
Salesperson License Fee: $130
Late Renewal Fee: $100


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Rhode Island broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old.

Applicant must undergo a criminal background check.

At least two years of real estate experience is required to obtain a Rhode Island broker license.

All Rhode Island broker licensees must complete a 90 hour pre-license education course.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 70%.

A Rhode Island broker license application must be submitted with one year of passing the exam.

All Rhode Island broker licensees must complete 18 hours of continuing education courses each renewal period.

Applicants with a Bachelor’s degree in Real Estate are exempt from the two year experience requirement.
Effective May 27 2009, attorneys are no longer exempt from the continuing education requirement.

Rhode Island has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Connecticut
Massachusetts

Fees to obtain a Rhode Island broker license include:
Exam Fee: $70
Broker License Fee: $170
Late Renewal Fee: $100


References:

State of Rhode Island Real Estate Candidate Handbook: April 1 2014: http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/094000.pdf

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations: Department of Business Regulations: http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/documents/divisions/commlicensing/realestate/RE-Sales_Broker_Requirements.pdf

State of Rhode Island: Department of Business Regulation: http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/commlicensing/realestate.php


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *