New Hampshire Real Estate License Requirements

The New Hampshire Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of New Hampshire. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in New Hampshire are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a New Hampshire salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicants who have been arrested or convicted of a crime must submit an Arrest & Conviction form and a Criminal Record Release Authorization form.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a New Hampshire salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 40 hours of prelicense education courses approved by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission, which includes 32 hours of classroom attendance and 8 hours of distance education.

New Hampshire Real Estate License Requirements

New Hampshire Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70% within one year of completing the pre-license course. The national portion of the salesperson exam consists of 100 questions. The state portion consists of 40 questions. The applicant has a total of 3.5 hours to complete the exam.

A New Hampshire salesperson license application must be submitted within six months of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in New Hampshire.

All licensees with either an active or inactive license are required to complete three hours of continuing education every two years.

Applicants with a law degree who actively practices or did practice law within the past five years are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.
Applicants with a bachelor’s degree who majored in real estate at an accredited college or university within the past five years are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.
Applicants with an associate degree who majored in real estate at an accredited college or university within the past five years are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.

New Hampshire has reciprocal agreements with the following states:
Massachusetts
Maine
Vermont
Georgia

Fees to obtain a New Hampshire salesperson license include:
Salesperson Exam Fee: $155
Salesperson License Fee: $90
Salesperson License Renewal Fee: $90


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a New Hampshire broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicants who have been arrested or convicted of a crime must submit an Arrest & Conviction form and a Criminal Record Release Authorization form.

At least one year of full time salesperson experience or 2000 hours of part time real estate salesperson experience is required to obtain a New Hampshire broker license. Evidence of at least six separate real estate transactions in which the applicant was actively involved and was compensated for must be submitted with license application.

Applicant must complete 60 hours of prelicense education courses approved by the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national broker exam within one year of completing the prelicense education course. The national portion of the exam consists of 10 simulation questions with a 2.5 hour time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 1.5 hour time limit.

A broker license application must be submitted within six months of passing the exam. Applicant must also submit a surety bond of no less than $25,000 to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.

All licensees with either an active or inactive license are required to complete three hours of continuing education every two years.
To activate a license, an applicant must complete a 6 hour continuing education course, in addition to the 3 hour course, and submit proof of an active bond.

Applicants with a law degree who actively practices or did practice law within the past five years are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.
Applicants with a bachelor’s degree who majored in real estate at an accredited college or university within the past five years are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.
Applicants with an associate degree who majored in real estate at an accredited college or university within the past five years are exempt from the pre-license education requirements.

New Hampshire has reciprocal agreements with the following states:
Massachusetts
Maine
Vermont
Georgia

Fees to obtain a New Hampshire broker license include:
Broker Exam Fee: $170
Broker License Fee: $110
Broker License Renewal Fee: $110


References:

New Hampshire Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook: July 2013: http://www.goamp.com/Publications/candidateHandbooks/NHREP-handbook-July-2013.pdf

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission: https://www.nh.gov/nhrec/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *