Nevada Real Estate License Requirements

The Nevada Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Nevada. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson, broker-salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Nevada are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Nevada salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Applicant must arrange to have fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency or other authorized agency recognized by the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Applicants who have held a real estate license in any state within the past 10 years must submit a certified license history issued within 90 days of the application by the state in which the applicant was licensed.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Nevada salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 90 hours or 6 semester units of instruction in real estate principles, practices and law from an accredited school or instructor. Course must include 45 hours or 3 college credits of Real Estate Principles and 45 hours or 3 college credits of Real Estate Law (which must include 18 hours of Nevada law).

Nevada Real Estate License Requirements

Nevada Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national real estate salesperson exam. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 60 minute time limit.

A Nevada salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam.

All first-time real estate salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education courses, including 6 hours of designated courses.
For subsequent renewals, salesperson licensees must complete 15 hours of continuing education courses, including 6 hours of designated courses.

Applicants with a law degree are exempt from the Real Estate Principle course and Real Estate Law course requirements but are still required to complete 18 hours of Nevada law.

Applicants who hold a current salesperson or higher level license in the following states qualify for a reciprocal Nevada salesperson license:
Arizona
Colorado
Delaware
Idaho
Kentucky
Louisiana
Minnesota
Texas
Utah
West Virginia

Applicants who hold a current broker, broker-associate or a broker-salesperson license in the following states qualify for a reciprocal Nevada salesperson license:
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
District of Columbia
Delaware
Florida
Idaho
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
Ohio
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
West Virginia

Fees to obtain a Nevada salesperson license include:
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $37.50
Original Salesperson License Application Fee: $40
Original Salesperson License Fee: $170
Salesperson Renewal Application Fee: $80
Salesperson License Renewal Fee: $280
Salesperson License Renewal Late Fee:
Reinstatement to active status from inactive status: $20


BROKER-SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Nevada broker-salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Nevada broker-salesperson license,

Applicant must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Applicant must arrange to have fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency or other authorized agency recognized by the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Applicants who have held a real estate license in any state within the past 10 years must submit a certified license history issued within 90 days of the application by the state in which the applicant was licensed.

Experience may be used in place of most education certificates or transcripts. Applicant may submit a combination of both experience and education transcripts to meet the 64 hour education requirement. Experience may not be substituted for the education requirement if experience is not verifiable or if the applicant’s out-of-state license is not current. Applicant must show proof that experience was full time and occurred within the past 10 years.
For every 2 years of experience, Nevada will grant 16 college credits towards the education requirements, with the exception of the 45 hour Broker Management and 18 hour Nevada real estate courses. Experience is granted in the following credits:
2 years = 16 credits
4 years = 32 credits
6 years = 48 credits
8 years = 64 credits

If experience is not verifiable, applicant has less than 2 years of experience or has an out-of-state license that is not current, applicant must complete 64 hours of semester credits, which include:
45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Principles.
45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Law (which must include 18 hours of Nevada law).
45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Appraisal.
45 hours or 3 college credits in Broker Managment (must be a Nevada specific course).
15 college credits in other real estate related courses, such as economics, business, management, accounting, finance and marketing.
37 college level units from any college, military education, technical school, etc.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national real estate broker exam with a minimum score of 75%. The national portion of the test consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 60 minute time limit.

A Nevada broker-salesperson license application must be within one year of passing the exam.

All first-time real estate broker-salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education courses, including 6 hours of designated courses.
For subsequent renewals, broker/salesperson licensees must complete 15 hours of continuing education courses, including 6 hours of designated courses.

Applicants with a law degree are exempt from the Real Estate Principle course and Real Estate Law course requirements but are still required to complete 18 hours of Nevada law, 3 semester credits of Real Estate Appraisal and 3 semester credits of Broker Management.

Applicants who hold a current salesperson or higher level license in the following states qualify for a reciprocal Nevada real estate salesperson license:
Arizona
Colorado
Delaware
Idaho
Kentucky
Louisiana
Minnesota
Texas
Utah
West Virginia

Applicants who hold a current broker, broker-associate or a broker-salesperson license in the following states qualify for a reciprocal Nevada salesperson license:
Arizona
California
Colorado
Connecticut
District of Columbia
Delaware
Florida
Idaho
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
Ohio
Pennsylvania
Rhode Island
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Virginia
West Virginia

Fees to obtain a Nevada broker-salesperson license include:
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $37.50
Original Broker-Salesperson License Application Fee: $40
Original Broker-Salesperson License Fee: $210
Broker-Salesperson Renewal Application Fee: $80
Broker-Salesperson License Renewal Fee: $360
Reinstatement to active status from inactive status: $20


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Nevada broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit fingerprints for a state and federal criminal background check. Applicant must arrange to have fingerprints taken by a law enforcement agency or other authorized agency recognized by the Nevada Real Estate Division.
Applicants who have held a real estate license in any state within the past 10 years must submit a certified license history issued within 90 days of the application by the state in which the applicant was licensed.

At least two years of full time salesperson experience within the past four years is required to obtain a Nevada broker license.

Experience may be used in place of most education certificates or transcripts. Applicant may submit a combination of both experience and education transcripts to meet the 64 hour education requirement. Experience may not be substituted for the education requirement if experience is not verifiable or if the applicant’s out-of-state license is not current. Applicant must show proof that experience was full time and occurred within the past 10 years.
For every two years of experience, Nevada will grant 16 college credits towards the education requirements, with the exception of the 45 hour Broker Management and 18 hour Nevada real estate courses. Experience is granted in the following credits:
2 years = 16 credits
4 years = 32 credits
6 years = 48 credits
8 years = 64 credits

If experience is not verifiable, applicant has less than two years of experience or has an out-of-state license that is not current, applicant must complete 64 hours of semester credits, which include:
45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Principles.
45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Law (which must include 18 hours of Nevada law).
45 hours or 3 college credits in Real Estate Appraisal.
45 hours or 3 college credits in Broker Management (must be a Nevada specific course).
15 college credits in other real estate related courses, such as economics, business, management, accounting, finance and marketing.
37 college level units from any college, military education, technical school, etc.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 75%. The national portion of the test consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 60 minute time limit.

A Nevada broker license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam.

All first-time real estate broker/salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education courses, including 6 hours of designated courses.
For subsequent renewals, broker/salesperson licensees must complete 15 hours of continuing education courses, including 6 hours of designated courses.

Applicants with a law degree are exempt from the Real Estate Principle course and Real Estate Law course requirements but are still required to complete 18 hours of Nevada law, 3 semester credits of Real Estate Appraisal and 3 semester credits of Broker Management.

Fees to obtain a Nevada broker license include:
Fingerprint Processing Fee: $37.50
Original Broker License Application Fee: $40
Original Broker License Fee: $210
Broker Renewal Application Fee: $80
Broker License Renewal Fee: $360
Reinstatement to active status from inactive status: $20


References:

Nevada Real Estate Division: Real Estate Licensing Requirements: Broker, Broker-Salesperson and Salesperson License: http://red.state.nv.us/realestate/re_licensing_requirements.htm#Salesperson%20License

State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Real Estate Division: Fees: http://red.state.nv.us/realestate/fees.pdf

State of Nevada Real Estate Salesperson and Broker Candidate Information Bulletin: February 1 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=92&bulletinurl=.pdf

State of Nevada Department of Business and Industry Real Estate Division: http://red.state.nv.us/forms/501.pdf

Nevada Real Estate Commission: http://red.state.nv.us/realestate/re_commission.htm

Nevada Real Estate Division: http://red.state.nv.us/realestate/realest.htm


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *