Nebraska Real Estate License Requirements

The Nebraska Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Nebraska. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Nebraska are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Nebraska salesperson license, applicant must be at least 19 years old.

Applicant must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Fingerprint cards may be requested by submitting the Notice of Rights Concerning Background Report.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Nebraska salesperson license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete 60 hours of pre-license education.

Nebraska Real Estate License Requirements

Nebraska Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state portion of the salesperson exam with 38 correct answers and the national portion with 70 correct answers. The state portion of the exam consists of 50 questions with a 1.5 hour time limit. The national portion has a time limit of 2.5 hours.

A Nebraska salesperson license application must be completed within 30 days of passing the exam. Applicant must also submit proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in Nebraska and proof of Error & Omission insurance.

Active licensees are required to complete 18 clock hours of continuing education every two years. At least 12 of these 18 hours must be coursework approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Of these 12 hours, at least six hours must be in designated subject matter. These courses are indicated with the letter “R” in the four-digit course content number that is assigned to the course.

According to the Nebraska Real Estate License Act, anyone with a current real estate license, in good standing, in another real estate regulatory jurisdiction which is his/her jurisdiction of primary residence, may be issued an equivalent real estate license in Nebraska either while remaining a non-resident of Nebraska or upon moving to Nebraska directly from the jurisdiction in which the real estate license is held. Nebraska doesn’t rely on Reciprocal Agreements with various jurisdictions to recognize licenses from there. Therefore, this is referred to as License by Recognition rather than Reciprocal Licensing.

Fees to obtain a Nebraska salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $150
License Application Fee: $135
Reinstatement Fee: $150
Original Salesperson License Fee: $100
Salesperson Renewal Fee: $200


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Nebraska broker license, applicant must be at least 19 years old.

Applicant must submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. Fingerprint cards may be requested by submitting the Notice of Rights Concerning Background Report.

At least two years of full time real estate experience, or the part time equivalent, is required to obtain a Nebraska broker license.

Applicant must complete 180 hours of pre-license education.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national broker exam. The multiple-choice portion of the national exam consists of 50 national questions and 25 state questions with a 90 minute time limit. The simulation portion consists of 10 simulation questions with a 2.5 hour time limit.

A Nebraska broker license application must be submitted after passing the exam along with proof of Error & Omission insurance insurance.

Active licensees are required to complete 18 clock hours of continuing education every two years. At least 12 of these 18 hours must be coursework approved by the Nebraska Real Estate Commission. Of these 12 hours, at least 6 hours must be in designated subject matter. These courses are indicated with the letter “R” in the four-digit course content number that is assigned to the course.

Applicants with at least two years of full time salesperson experience are only required to complete 120 hours of pre-license education.

According to the Nebraska Real Estate License Act, anyone with a current real estate license, in good standing, in another real estate regulatory jurisdiction which is his/her jurisdiction of primary residence, may be issued an equivalent real estate license in Nebraska either while remaining a non-resident of Nebraska or upon moving to Nebraska directly from the jurisdiction in which the real estate license is held. Nebraska doesn’t rely on Reciprocal Agreements with various jurisdictions to recognize licenses from there. Therefore, this is referred to as License by Recognition rather than Reciprocal Licensing.

Fees to obtain a Nebraska broker license include:
Exam Fee: $150
License Application Fee: $135
Reinstatement Fee: $150
Original Broker License Fee: $130
Broker Renewal Fee: $260


References:

Nebraska Real Estate Candidate Handbook: November 2013: http://www.cookeschool.com/userfiles/NEREP-handbook-2014.pdf

Nebraska Real Estate Commission: FAQ for Real Estate Applications: http://www.nrec.ne.gov/additional-links/faqapplicants.html#FAQE1

Nebraska Real Estate Commission: General Salesperson/Broker License Requirements: http://www.nrec.ne.gov/licensing-forms/generallicenserequirement.html

Nebraska Real Estate Commission Fee Schedule: http://www.nrec.ne.gov/licensing-forms/fees.html

Nebraska Real Estate Commission: Licensing Forms: http://www.nrec.ne.gov/licensing-forms/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *