Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements

The Mississippi Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Mississippi. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Mississippi are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Mississippi salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a resident of Mississippi.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicant must disclose if he or she has ever had a real estate license denied in Mississippi or another state, has ever had a professional license revoked or suspended, has ever been convicted of a crime or has ever declared bankruptcy.

Applicant must submit recommendations from three real estate owners who are not related to the applicant.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Mississippi salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 60 hours of an approved prelicense education course.

Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements

Mississippi Real Estate License Requirements

After fulfilling the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the general portion of the salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70% and state portion with a minimum score of 75%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions and the state portion consists of 40 questions. Applicants have a total of 4 hours to complete the exam.

A Mississippi salesperson license application must be submitted along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in Mississippi.

All first-time salesperson licensees must complete a 30 hour post-license course within one year of being issued the real estate salesperson license.

After the first renewal period, all Mississippi salesperson licensees must complete 16 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period, which must include 8 hours in the following topics:
2 hours of License Law
2 hours of Contract Law
4 hours of Agency Law

Reciprocal agreements with states vary. Contact the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for details.

Fees to obtain a Mississippi salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $75
Salesperson License Application Fee: $110


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Mississippi broker license, applicant must be at least 21 years old and must be a resident of Mississippi.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicant must disclose if he or she has ever had a real estate license denied in Mississippi or another state, has ever had a professional license revoked or suspended, has ever been convicted of a crime or has ever declared bankruptcy.

At least one year of experience as a real estate salesperson within the past year is required to obtain a Mississippi broker license.

Applicant must complete 120 hours of approved prelicense education courses.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the general portion of the broker exam with a minimum score of 75% and the state portion with a minimum score of 80%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions and the state portion consists of 40 questions. Applicants have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

A Mississippi broker license application must be submitted after passing the exam.

All first-time broker licensees must complete a 30 hour course with the words “Broker Post-License” course in the title within one year of being issued the broker license.

After the first renewal period, Mississippi broker licensees must complete 16 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period, which must include 8 hours in the following topics:
2 hours of License Law
2 hours of Contract Law
4 hours of Agency Law

Applicant is exempt from the one-year active salesperson’s license requirement if applicant completes 150 hours of approved real estate courses instead of the usual 120 hours.

Reciprocal agreements with states vary. Contact the Mississippi Real Estate Commission for details.

Fees to obtain a Mississippi broker license include:
Exam Fee: $75
Broker License Application Fee: $135


References:

Mississippi Real Estate Commission: How to Obtain a Real Estate License in Mississippi: http://www.c21eei.com/MREC–howtoobtainarealestlicinMS01-31-03.pdf

Mississippi Real Estate Commission: Application for Resident Salesperson License: http://www.mrec.ms.gov/docs/mrec_forms_RESIDENT_SALESPERSON_LICENSE_APPLICATION.pdf

Mississippi Real Estate Commission: Application for Resident Broker’s License: http://www.mrec.ms.gov/docs/mrec_forms_resident_brokers_application.pdf

Mississippi Real Estate Commission: Real Estate Salesperson and Broker Examination Candidate Information Bulletin: 3/1/2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=489&bulletinurl=.pdf

Mississippi Realtors Institute: Continuing Real Estate Education: http://realtorinstitute.org/Continuing%20Education.php

Mississippi Realtors: Frequently Asked Questions: http://msrealtors.org/About/FAQ.php

Mississippi Real Estate Commission: http://www.mrec.ms.gov/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *