Minnesota Real Estate License Requirements

The Minnesota Department of Commerce oversees all real estate matters in the state of Minnesota. The types of real estate licenses the department currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Minnesota are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Minnesota salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Minnesota salesperson license.

Minnesota Real Estate License Requirements

Minnesota Real Estate License Requirements

Applicant must complete 90 hours of prelicense education courses, which includes three 30 clock hour courses approved by the department:
Course 1 must be completed before taking the Minnesota real estate salesperson exam.
Course 2 and Course 3 may be taken before or after the exam.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and general salesperson exam with a minimum score of 75%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 2.5 hour time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 1.5 hour time limit.

A Minnesota salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of taking the exam.
Submit proof of sponsorship by a licensed real estate broker in Minnesota.

All Minnesota salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period, which must include at least one hour of fair housing law, one hour of agency law, and the required residential leasing module course.

Minnesota has a reciprocity agreement with the following states:
Colorado
Nebraska
Iowa
North Dakota
Oklahoma
South Dakota
Wisconsin

Wisconsin applicants must complete at least 13 hours of a Minnesota real estate salesperson course and pass the Minnesota State Laws portion of the real estate salesperson exam.
Applicant must fax a letter of certification (no more than 90 days old) documenting that the applicant currently holds an active salesperson license in one of the seven reciprocal states.

Fees to obtain a Minnesota salesperson license include:
Salesperson General Exam Only: $40
Salesperson State Exam Only: $40
Salesperson State & General Exam (taken at same time): $65
Salesperson License Fee: $210


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Minnesota broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must complete the real estate broker education course.

At least three years of full time experience as a licensed real estate salesperson in Minnesota or another state within the past five years is required to obtain a Minnesota broker license. If the three years of experience was obtained sporadically during the past five years, the applicant must submit a Request for Waiver of Salesperson Experience to Sit for Broker Exam form and receive approval prior to taking the exam.

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and general portion of the broker exam with a minimum score of 75%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 2.5 hour time limit. The state portion consists of 50 questions with a 1.5 hour time limit.

A Minnesota broker license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam.
A broker must first apply for a business entity license (unless the applicant is going to be affiliated with an active Minnesota licenses real estate company.)

All Minnesota broker licensees must complete 30 hours of continuing education courses within two years prior to each renewal, which includes at least one hour of fair housing law, one hour of agency law, and the required residential leasing module course.

Minnesota has a reciprocity agreement with the following states:
Colorado
Nebraska
Iowa
North Dakota
Oklahoma
South Dakota
Wisconsin

Wisconsin applicants must complete at least 13 hours of a Minnesota real estate salesperson course and pass the Minnesota State Laws portion of the real estate salesperson exam.
Applicant must fax a letter of certification (no more than 90 days old) documenting that the applicant currently holds an active salesperson license in one of the seven reciprocal states.

Fees to obtain a Minnesota broker license include:
Broker General Exam Only: $40
Broker State Exam Only: $40
Broker State & General Exam (taken at same time): $65
Broker License Fee: $210


References:

Minnesota Department of Commerce: Real Estate Salesperson, Broker and Abstracter Examination Candidate Information Bulletin: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=341&bulletinurl=.pdf

Minnesota Department of Commerce: Apply for a Broker License: http://mn.gov/commerce/businesses/Real-Estate-RE-Company/Broker-RE/Broker-License-Apply.jsp

Minnesota Department of Commerce: Broker License: http://mn.gov/commerce/topics/Licensing/Real-Estate-Licensing/Broker/index.jsp

Minnesota Department of Commerce: Salesperson: http://mn.gov/commerce/topics/Licensing/Real-Estate-Licensing/Salesperson/index.jsp

Minnesota Department of Commerce: Apply for a Salesperson License: http://mn.gov/commerce/topics/Licensing/Real-Estate-Licensing/Salesperson/Apply-for-Salesperson-License.jsp

Minnesota Department of Commerce: Real Estate Licensing: http://mn.gov/commerce/topics/real-estate/licensing.jsp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *