Michigan Real Estate License Requirements

The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs oversees all real estate matters in the state of Michigan. The types of real estate licenses the department currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Michigan are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Michigan salesperson license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must be of good moral character. Michigan does not require applicants to submit fingerprints or undergo a criminal background check. Applicants who have held a real estate license in another state must submit a letter of good standing from each state’s real estate commission or regulatory entity.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Michigan salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 40 clock hours of a prelicense education course.

Michigan Real Estate License Requirements

Michigan Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the salesperson license exam with a minimum score of 70%. The exam consists of 130 questions. Applicants have a total of three hours to complete the exam.

A Michigan salesperson license application must be submitted within 36 months of completing the prelicense course and within one year of passing the exam.

It is not required to have a sponsoring broker at the time the applicant submits the license application. Broker information may be supplied to the State of Michigan at a later time using the Employing Broker Notification form. The license application will remain in a “pending” status until broker sponsorship is confirmed, or for one year from the date of application.

All Michigan salesperson licensees must complete two clock hours of legal updates every year, which totals 18 per every three years.

Michigan is a non-reciprocal licensing state.

Fees to obtain a Michigan salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $52
New Salesperson License Fee: $62 (until 10/31/2014) $36 (starting 11/1/2014).
Salesperson Relicensure Fee: $82 (until 10/31/2014) $62 (starting 11/1/2014).


ASSOCIATE BROKER or BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Michigan associate broker or broker license, applicant must be at least 18 years old.

Associate broker applicants who do not live in Michigan must file a Consent to Service of Process form. Brokers must maintain a physical location in Michigan from which business is conducted.

Applicant must be of good moral character. Michigan does not require applicants to submit fingerprints or undergo a criminal background check. Applicants who have held a real estate license in another state must submit a letter of good standing from each state’s real estate commission or regulatory entity.

Applicant must complete 90 clock hours of an approved real estate course. If applicant has a law degree or MBA, it counts for 60 clock hours.

After fulfilling the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the broker exam with a grade of 70 or better. The exam consists of 130 questions. Applicants have a total of three hours to complete the exam.

A Michigan associate broker or broker license application must be submitted within 36 months of completing the prelicense course and within one year of passing the exam.

All Michigan associate broker or broker licensees must complete two clock hours of legal updates every year, which totals 18 per every 3 years.

Michigan is a non-reciprocal licensing state.

Fees to obtain a Michigan broker license include:
Exam Fee: $52
New Associate Broker/Broker License Fee: $107 (until 10/31/2014) $71 (starting 11/1/2014).
Associate Broker/Broker Relicensure: $127 (until 10/31/2014) $91 (starting 11/1/2014).


References:

Michigan Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook: http://www.dleg.state.mi.us/bcsc/forms/real/candbk.pdf

State of Michigan: Steps to Obtain a Michigan Real Estate Salesperson License: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dleg/steps_to_obtain_a_new_salesperson_license_319535_7.pdf

State of Michigan: Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs: Broker License & Requirements: http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_61343_35414_60647_35475-215393–,00.html

State of Michigan: Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs: Real Estate License Fees: http://www.michigan.gov/documents/lara/Real_Estate_License_Fees_2012_393825_7.pdf

State of Michigan: Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs: Salesperson License & Requirements: http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_61343_35414_60647_35475-215395–,00.html

State of Michigan: Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs: Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons: http://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-35299_61343_35414_60647_35475—,00.html


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *