Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements

The Massachusetts Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons oversees all real estate matters in the state of Massachusetts. The types of real estate licenses the board currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Massachusetts are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Massachusetts salesperson license, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work for the United States.

Although no official criminal background is required, applicant must submit proof of having a good moral character with three letters of recommendation from reputable Massachusetts residents who are not related to the applicant. Applicant must also disclose if he or she has ever been convicted of a crime and disclose if he or she has ever had a professional license suspended or revoked in any state.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Massachusetts salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 40 hours of prelicense salesperson education courses and obtain a Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Education Certificate form after completing prelicense education requirement.

Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements

Massachusetts Real Estate License Requirements

Applicant must pass the state and general portion of the real estate salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70% within two years of completing the prelicense education courses. The general portion of the exam has 80 questions. The state portion has 40 questions. Applicants have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

A salesperson license application must be submitted within 24 months of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed real estate broker in Massachusetts.

All Massachusetts salesperson licensees must complete 12 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period.

The board may issue a real estate salesperson or broker license to applicants licensed in other states that have laws similar to Massachusetts’ real estate regulations.

Fees to obtain a Massachusetts salesperson license include:
First Time Salesperson Exam Fee: $101
Retaker Exam Fee: $56
Salesperson License Fee: $103-$150


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Massachusetts broker license an applicant must, be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work for the United States.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicant must submit proof of having a good moral character with three letters of recommendation from reputable Massachusetts residents who are not related to the applicant. Applicant must also disclose if he or she has ever been convicted of a crime and must disclose if he or she has ever had a professional license suspended or revoked in any state.

At least three years of active real estate salesperson experience, working a minimum of 25 hours a week, during the past two years is required to obtain a Massachusetts broker license.

Applicant must complete 40 hours of prelicense broker education courses and obtain a Massachusetts Board of Real Estate Education Certificate form after completing prelicense education requirement.

Applicant must pass the state and general portion of the real estate broker exam with a minimum score of 70% within two years of completing the prelicense education. The general portion of the exam has 80 questions. The state portion has 40 questions. Applicants have a total of four hours to complete the exam. Applicant must bring his or her current Massachusetts salesperson license, either on active or inactive status, to the exam site along with a completed Employing Broker Certificate.

A Massachusetts broker license application must be submitted within 24 months of passing the exam. Applicant must also submit proof of having a $5,000 surety bond.

All broker licensees must complete 12 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period.

Licensed real estate brokers who are also attorneys in Massachusetts are exempt from the continuing education requirement.

The board may issue a real estate salesperson or broker license to applicants licensed in other states that have laws similar to Massachusetts’ real estate regulations.

Fees to obtain a Massachusetts broker license include:
First Time Broker Exam Fee: $122
Retaker Exam Fee: $56
Broker License Fee: $142-$200


References:

Commonwealth of Massachusetts Candidate Handbook: April 2014: http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/090200.pdf

State of Massachusetts: Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation: Licensure: http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/re/regulations/rules-and-regs/254-cmr-200-licensure.html

State of Massachusetts: Frequently Asked Questions About Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons: http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/re/faqs.html#012

State of Massachusetts: Board of Registration of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons: http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/re/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *