Maine Real Estate License Requirements

The Maine Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Maine. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are sales agent and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [sales agent] or broker in Maine are as follows:

SALES AGENT LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Maine sales agent license, applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must also undergo a criminal background check and disclose if he or she has ever been the subject of disciplinary action regarding a professional license or has ever had a professional license denied.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Maine sales agent license.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete the sales agent course with a minimum grade of 75%.

Maine Real Estate License Requirements

Maine Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam with a grade of 75% within one year of completing the prelicense education. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions. The state portion consists of 40 questions.

A Maine salesperson license application must be within one year of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed real estate broker in Maine.

The Maine sales agent license is a temporary and nonrenewable license. Applicant must fulfill the associate broker requirements and upgrade the status of his or her license to associate broker before sales agent license expires.

The Maine real estate commission may issue a real estate salesperson or broker license to applicants licensed in other states that have laws similar to Maine’s real estate regulations.

Fees to obtain a Maine sales agent license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Sales Agent License Fee: $100
Criminal Records Check Fee: $21


ASSOCIATE BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Maine associate broker license, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must undergo a criminal background check and must disclose if he or she has ever been the subject of disciplinary action regarding a professional license or has ever had a professional license denied.

At least two years of real estate sales experience during the past five years is required.

Applicant must have a high school diploma or GED and complete the 60 hour Associate Broker course with a minimum grade of 75%.

A Maine associate broker license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam. Applicant must also submit an Associate Broker Course Completion Certificate with license application.

All Maine associate broker licensees must complete 21 clock hours of continuing education during each two year renewal period.

The commission may issue a real estate salesperson or broker license to applicants licensed in other states that have laws similar to Maine’s real estate regulations.

Fees to obtain a Maine associate broker license
Exam Fee: $85
Associate Broker License Fee: $100
Criminal Records Check Fee: $21


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Maine broker license, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must undergo a criminal background check and must disclose if he or she has ever been the subject of disciplinary action regarding a professional license or has ever had a professional license denied.

At least two years of experience as a licensed associate broker during the past five years is required to obtain a Maine broker license.

Applicant must complete the Designated Broker Course with a minimum grade of 75%.

A Maine broker license application must be submitted within one year of completing the prelicense course. Applicant must also submit a Designated Broker Course Completion Certificate with license application.

All Maine broker licensees must complete 21 clock hours of continuing education during each two year renewal period.

The commission may issue a real estate salesperson or broker license to applicants licensed in other states that have laws similar to Maine’s real estate regulations.

Fees to obtain a Maine broker license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Broker License Fee: $100
Criminal Records Check Fee: $21


References:

Maine Real Estate Candidate Handbook: April 2014: http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/092000.pdf

State of Maine: Professional & Financial Regulation: Real Estate Commission: FAQ: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/real_estate/faq.html

State of Maine: Professional & Financial Regulation: Real Estate Commission: Real Estate Broker/Designated Broker: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/real_estate/broker.html

State of Maine: Professional & Financial Regulation: Real Estate Commission: Associate Broker: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/real_estate/associate.html

State of Maine: Professional & Financial Regulation: Real Estate Commission: Real Estate Sales Agent: http://www.maine.gov/pfr/professionallicensing/professions/real_estate/agent.html


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *