Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements

The Louisiana Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Louisiana. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Louisiana are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a salesperson license in Louisiana, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must undergo a criminal background check and must disclose if he or she has ever had a real estate license denied, restricted or revoked in any state.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Louisiana salesperson license.

Prelicense educations requirements for a salesperson license are as follows:
Have a high school diploma or GED.
Complete a 90 classroom hour prelicense education course, which must include the following topics:
Real Estate Principles and Practices
Louisiana Real Estate License Law
Commission Rules and Regulations
Law of Agency
Civil Law

Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements

Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 105 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 55 questions with a 75 minute time limit.

A Louisiana salesperson license application within 90 days of passing the exam.
Applicant must also submit proof of sponsorship by a licensed real estate broker in Louisiana and submit proof of Errors & Omission insurance.

All licensees must complete 45 hours of post license education courses within the first 180 days of initial licensure.

After the first renewal period, applicant must complete 12 hours of continuing education during each renewal period, which must include four hours in mandatory topics designated by the commission.

Louisiana has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Alabama
Arkansas
Colorado
Georgia
Indiana
Mississippi
New Mexico
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania

Fees to obtain a Louisiana salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Salesperson License Application Fee: $90


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a broker license in Louisiana, an applicants must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must undergo a criminal background check and must disclose if he or she has ever had a real estate license denied, restricted or revoked in any state.

Applicant must have held an active salesperson license in any state for at least four years.

Prelicense education requirements for a broker license are as follows:
Have a high school diploma or GED.
Complete 150 hours of prelicense education courses, which must include:
90 classroom hours in Real Estate 201
30 classroom hours in Real Estate 202
30 classroom hours in Real Estate 203

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national broker exam. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 105 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 55 questions with a 75 minute time limit.

A Louisiana broker license application must be submitted within 90 days of passing the exam along with proof of Errors & Omission insurance.

All licensees must complete 12 hours of continuing education during each renewal period, which must include four hours in mandatory topics designated by the commission.

Louisiana has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Alabama
Arkansas
Colorado
Georgia
Indiana
Mississippi
New Mexico
Oklahoma
Pennsylvania

Fees to obtain a Louisiana broker license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Broker License Application Fee: $165


References:

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Real Estate Brokers, Salespersons, and Prelicensing/Continuing Education Instructors Licensing Information Bulletin: April 24 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=33&bulletinurl=.pdf

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Initial Real Estate Salesperson License Application: https://www.lrec.state.la.us/files/Rev%2003-14%20Initial%20License%20Application%20Sales.pdf

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Initial Real Estate Broker License Application – Part A: https://www.lrec.state.la.us/files/Rev%2009-13%20Initial%20License%20Application%20Broker%202012.pdf

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Broker Requirements: https://www.lrec.state.la.us/broker/#BLR

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Salesperson Requirements: http://www.lrec.state.la.us/salesperson/#SLR

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Post License Education:

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: Prelicense Education: https://www.lrec.state.la.us/pre-license-education/

Louisiana Real Estate Commission: https://www.lrec.state.la.us/home/


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *