Georgia Real Estate License Requirements

The Georgia Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Georgia. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Georgia are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Georgia salesperson license, applicants must be 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Applicant must submit a Georgia Crime Information Center report to a real estate exam testing center (if applicant has no criminal history) or to the Georgia Real Estate Commission for investigation (if the applicant does have a criminal history).
Nonresident applicants must obtain a criminal background check from their state of residency or from the National Crime Information Center.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Georgia salesperson license.

Applicants must have a high school diploma or GED and meet one of the following real estate education requirements:

Complete the required 75-hour salesperson prelicense course at a school approved by the Georgia Real Estate Commission.
Complete a minimum of 10 quarter hours or 6 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from an accredited college or course work in real property, agency or contracts from an accredited school of law.

Georgia Real Estate License Requirements

Georgia Real Estate License Requirements

After meeting the education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam. Questions from both portions of the exam will appear on the test in random order and applicants will not be able to identify if the question is from the state or national portion. The national portion of the exam consists of 100 questions. The state portion consists of 52 questions. Applicants will have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

A Georgia salesperson license application must be submitted within 12 months of passing the exam.

Licensees must then active the license using a “Sponsoring Broker Statement Application.”

First time salesperson licensees must complete a 25 hour salesperson postlicense course approved by the real estate commission during first year of licensure.

After the first renewal period, all salesperson licensees must complete 24 hours of approved continuing education course work during each four year renewal period.

Applicants currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction, except Florida, may be eligible for a reciprocal license. To become eligible, an applicant must meet the following requirements:
Have passed the state and national exam in his or her state for the type of license the applicant is seeking.
Complete all prelicense and continuing education requirements in the state applicant is licensed in.
Have a current real estate license in good standing.

Fees to obtain a Georgia salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $115
Salesperson License Fee: $170 (if applying within 3 months of passing exam) or $340 (if applying more than 3 months but less than 12 months after passing exam.)


ASSOCIATE BROKER or BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Georgia associate broker or broker license, applicants must be at least 21 years old. Applicants may take the broker exam at age 20, but cannot activate the license until the applicant is 21 years old.

Applicant must also be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

At least three years of active real estate experience during the past five years is required.

Applicant must submit a Georgia Crime Information Center report to a testing center (if applicant has no criminal history) or to the Georgia Real Estate Commission for investigation (if the applicant does have a criminal history).
Nonresident applicants must obtain a criminal background check from their state of residency or from the National Crime Information Center.

A licensed salesperson applying to upgrade their license to an associate broker or broker license must:
Must have a high school diploma or GED.
Complete the 60 hour Broker’s Prelicense Course.
Complete a minimum of 15 quarter hours or 9 semester hours of either course work eligible for a major in real estate from an accredited college or course work in real property, agency or contracts from an accredited school of law.

A licensed Community Association manager applying to upgrade their license to an associate broker or broker license must:
Complete an additional 75 hour course approved by the real estate commission.
or
Complete a 75 hour salesperson prelicense course approved by the real estate commission.
or
Complete a minimum of 10 additional quarter hours of 6 additional semester hours of college course work in real estate from an accredited college or university.

Applicant must pass the state and national broker exam. Questions from both portions of the exam will appear on the test in random order and applicants will not be able to identify if the question is from the state or national portion. Applicants will have a total of 5 hours to complete the exam.

A Georgia broker or associate broker license application must be submitted within 12 months of passing the exam.

Licensees must then active the license by filing an “Opening a New Firm” or a “Change of Qualifying Broker” application.

All associate broker or broker licensees must complete at least 24 hours of approved continuing education course work during each four year renewal period.

Applicants currently licensed in another state or jurisdiction, except Florida, may be eligible for a reciprocal license. To become eligible, an applicant must meet the following requirements:
Have passed the state and national exam in his or her state for the type of license he or she is seeking.
Complete all prelicense and continuing education requirements in the state applicant is licensed in.
Have a current real estate license in good standing.

Fees to obtain an associate broker or broker license include:
Exam Fee: $115
Broker/Associate Broker License Fee: $170


References:

Georgia Real Estate Candidate Handbook: http://www.atlantarealestateschool.com/shared/PDF/GARE_handbook.pdf

Georgia: Real Estate Commission: Classification by Reciprocity: http://www.grec.state.ga.us/grec/rereciprocity.html

Georgia Real Estate Commission: Broker/Associate Broker Requirements: https://www.grec.state.ga.us/grec/rebroker.html

Georgia Real Estate Commission: Salesperson Requirements: https://www.grec.state.ga.us/grec/resalesperson.html

Georgia Real Estate Commission: https://www.grec.state.ga.us/grec/relicense.html


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *