Delaware Real Estate License Requirements

The Delaware Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Delaware. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Delaware are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Delaware salesperson license an applicant must at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicant must disclose if he or she has ever been convicted of a felony or any other criminal offense. If so, applicant must submit a complete explanation and a certified copy of his or her criminal history. Applicant must also disclose if he or she has any pending criminal charges, has ever received administrative penalties or has been the subject of any real estate-related disciplinary proceedings or complaints.

No prior real estate experience is necessary to obtain a Delaware salesperson license.

Applicant must complete 99 hours of a salesperson prelicense course.

Delaware Real Estate License Requirements

Delaware Real Estate License Requirements

After fulfilling the prelicense education requirement, applicant must pass the state and general portion of the salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70%. The general portion consists of 80 questions. The state portion consists of 40 questions. Applicants will have a total of 4 hours to complete the exam.

A Delaware salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed real estate broker in Delaware.

All first-time Delaware salesperson licensees must complete four modules of continuing education courses within first 12 months of licensure, which includes:
3 hours of Professional Standards of Real Estate
3 hours of Agreement of Sale – Buyer Representation
3 hours of Real Estate Documents – Seller Representation
3 hours of Real Estate Professionalism

After the first renewal period, all licensees must complete 21 hours of continuing education every two years, which includes:
3 hours of Agency and Fair Housing
3 hours of Professional Standards
3 hours of Real Estate Documents
3 hours of Office Management
3 hours of Legislative Issues
3 hours of Practices of Real Estate
3 hours of electives

Applicants currently licensed and practicing in another state are exempt from the general portion of the real estate salesperson exam.
Applicants currently licensed and practicing in another state who will be affiliated with a broker outside of Delaware are exempt from the prelicense education requirements.

Applicants applying for a reciprocal license must:
Pass the Delaware Law portion of the real estate broker exam.
Complete the Delaware law portion of the prelicense education course.
or
Complete another state’s 99 hour prelicense education course.
or
Submit a certificate of license history showing applicant has been licensed continuously for 3 years prior to submitting the application and submit a list of 20 sales or lease transactions applicant completed during the past 3 years. List must be signed by both the applicant and the broker and it must include the following for each transaction:
Sale or lease completion date
Property address
Purchase/lessee name
Seller/lessee name
Whether applicant personally completed the sale or lease or subordinate completed it.

Fees to obtain a Delaware salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Salesperson License Fee: $95
Salesperson License Reinstatement Fee: $143


BROKER or ASSOCIATE BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for a Delaware associate broker or broker license an applicant must at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicant must disclose if he or she has ever been convicted of a felony or any other criminal offense. If so, applicant must submit a complete explanation and a certified copy of his or her criminal history. Applicant must also disclose if he or she has any pending criminal charges, has ever received administrative penalties or has been the subject of any real estate-related disciplinary proceedings or complaints.

Applicant must have at least five years of continuous experience practicing real estate either as a salesperson or broker prior to applying for a broker’s license and have accrued at least 30 qualified sales transactions during that five year period. List of transactions must be signed by applicant and broker and include the following for each transaction:
Sale or lease completion date
Property address
Purchase/lessee name
Seller/lessee name
Note indicating whether applicant personally completed each sale or lease or a subordinate completed it.

Applicant must complete a 96 hour broker’s course accredited by the Delaware Real Estate Commission.

After fulfilling the prelicense education requirements, the applicant must pass the state and general portion of the broker exam with a minimum score of 70%. The general portion of the exam consists of 80 questions. The state portion consists of 40 questions. Applicants have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

A Delaware broker or associate broker license application must be submitted within one year of completing the prelicense education course.

All first-time Delaware associate broker or broker licensees must complete four modules of continuing education courses within first 12 months of licensure, which includes:
3 hours of Professional Standards of Real Estate
3 hours of Agreement of Sale – Buyer Representation
3 hours of Real Estate Documents – Seller Representation
3 hours of Real Estate Professionalism

After the first renewal period, all associate broker or broker licensees must complete 21 hours of continuing education every two years, which includes:
3 hours of Agency and Fair Housing
3 hours of Professional Standards
3 hours of Real Estate Documents
3 hours of Office Management
3 hours of Legislative Issues
3 hours of Practices of Real Estate
3 hours of electives

Applicants currently licensed and practicing in another state are exempt from the general portion of the real estate salesperson exam.
Applicants currently licensed and practicing in another state who will be affiliated with a broker outside of Delaware are exempt from the prelicense education requirements.

Applicants applying for a reciprocal license must:
Pass the Delaware Law portion of the real estate broker exam.
Complete the Delaware law portion of the prelicense education course.
or
Complete another state’s 99 hour prelicense education course.
or
Submit a certificate of license history showing applicant has been licensed continuously for 3 years prior to submitting the application and submit a list of 20 sales or lease transactions applicant completed during the past 3 years. List must be signed by both the applicant and the broker and it must include the following for each transaction:
Sale or lease completion date
Property address
Purchase/lessee name
Seller/lessee name
Note indicating whether applicant personally completed each sale or lease or subordinate completed it.

Fees to obtain a Delaware associate broker or broker license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Associate Broker License Fee: $155
Associate Broker License Reinstatement Fee: $233
Broker License Fee: $171
Broker License Reinstatement Fee: $257


References:

Delaware Real Estate Candidate Handbook: April 2014: http://asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/090800.pdf

State of Delaware: Real Estate Commission: Forms: http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/forms.shtml

State of Delaware: Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements: http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/cerequirements.shtml

State of Delaware: Application for Real Estate Broker Licensure: http://dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/documents/Real_Estate_Broker_Application.pdf

State of Delaware: Application for Real Estate Salesperson Licensure: http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/documents/Real_Estate_Salesperson_Application.pdf

State of Delaware: Real Estate Commission: Fee Schedule: http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/fees.shtml

State of Delaware: Salesperson Licensure: http://www.dpr.delaware.gov/boards/realestate/ressalesperson.shtml


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *