Colorado Real Estate License Requirements

The Colorado Division of Real Estate oversees all real estate matters in the state of Colorado. The department currently operates on a broker-only licensing system.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [associate broker] or broker in Colorado are as follows:

ASSOCIATE BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Applicants seeking a Colorado associate broker license must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

A criminal background check is required of all applicants, which includes submitting a set of fingerprints. Fingerprints may be submitted electronically at a designated facility or via a fingerprint card available at most real estate schools or at the State Forms Center in Denver, Co.

No prior real estate experience is required to obtain a Colorado associate broker license.

Prelicense education requirements for a Colorado associate broker license are as follows:
Complete 168 hours of prelicense education courses, which must include:
48 hours of Real Estate Law & Practice
48 hours of Colorado Contracts & Regulations
8 hours of Current Legal Issues
24 hours of Real Estate Closings
32 hours of Practical Applications

Colorado Real Estate License Requirements

Colorado Real Estate License Requirements

Applicants must pass the state portion of the broker exam with at least 53 correct answers and the national portion with at least 60 correct answers. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 74 questions with a 110 minute time limit.

An associate broker license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam along with proof of sponsorship by a licensed Colorado broker. Applicant must also submit proof of Errors & Omission insurance.

All Colorado associate broker licensees must complete 24 hours of continuing education courses during each three year renewal period, which must include 12 hours of three different versions of the four hour Annual Commission Update Course. The remaining 12 hours may be a combination of any elective credit hours approved by the Colorado Real Estate Commission.

Applicants who have a four-year degree with a major in real estate are exempt from the prelicense educations requirements. Original transcripts must be submitted with the license application.

Prelicense education requirements for applicants with a law degree are as follows:
Complete a 12 hour prelicense education course in Trust Accounts, Closings, & Record keeping. Proof of a law degree must be submitted with the license application.

Fees for a Colorado associate broker license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Broker Application: $570
Base Rate Renewal Fee: $165
Broker Transfer/Upgrade/Active Fee: $50


EMPLOYING BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Applicants seeking a Colorado employing broker license must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

A criminal background check is required of all applicants, which includes submitting a set of fingerprints. Fingerprints may be submitted electronically at a designated facility or via a fingerprint card available at most real estate schools or at the State Forms Center in Denver, Co.

At least two years of real estate experience is required to obtain a Colorado employing broker license.

Prelicense education requirements for an employing broker license are as follows:
Complete the 24 hour Brokerage Administration Course.

Applicants must pass the state portion of the broker exam with at least 53 correct answers and the national portion with at least 60 correct answers. The national portion of the exam consists of 80 questions with a 120 minute time limit. The state portion consists of 74 questions with a 110 minute time limit. (Applicant must pass the exam either when applicant first obtained Associate Broker license or since then).

A “Change of Broker Level of Authority” application must be submitted after passing the exam. Proof that applicant has Errors & Omission insurance must also be submitted.

All Colorado employing broker licensees must complete 24 hours of continuing education courses during each three year renewal period, which must include 12 hours of three different versions of the four hour Annual Commission Update Course. The remaining 12 hours may be a combination of any elective credit hours approved by the Colorado Real Estate Commission.

Fees to obtain a Colorado employing broker license include:
Exam Fee: $85
Broker Application: $570
Base Rate Renewal Fee: $165
Broker Transfer/Upgrade/Active Fee: $50


References:

State of Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies Division of Real Estate: Real Estate Candidate Information Bulletin: March 1 2014: https://candidate.psiexams.com/bulletin/display_bulletin.jsp?ro=yes&actionname=83&bulletinid=163&bulletinurl=.pdf

State of Colorado: Department of Regulatory Agencies: Continuing Education: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/DORA-DRE/CBON/DORA/1251628341868

State of Colorado: Department of Regulatory Agencies: Initial Licensing Information: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/DORA-DRE/CBON/DORA/1251627343540

State of Colorado: Department of Regulatory Agencies: FAQ: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Page&childpagename=DORA-DRE/DORALayout&cid=1251614735941&pagename=CBONWrapper

State of Colorado: Department of Regulatory Agencies: CBI Information: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheadername1=Content-Disposition&blobheadername2=Content-Type&blobheadervalue1=inline%3B+filename%3D%22CBI+Information.pdf%22&blobheadervalue2=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id&blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=1251853298569&ssbinary=true

State of Colorado: Department of Regulatory Agencies: Colorado Real Estate Broker License Application: Requirements Grid: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?blobcol=urldata&blobheadername1=Content-Disposition&blobheadername2=Content-Type&blobheadervalue1=inline%3B+filename%3D%22REB_NewLic_Qualifications.pdf%22&blobheadervalue2=application%2Fpdf&blobkey=id&blobtable=MungoBlobs&blobwhere=1251957607939&ssbinary=true

State of Colorado: Department of Regulatory Agencies: Fees: http://cdn.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/DORA-DRE/CBON/DORA/1251627362830


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *