California Real Estate License Requirements

The California Bureau of Real Estate oversees all real estate matters in the state of California. The types of real estate licenses currently issued by the bureau are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in California are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Applicants seeking a California salesperson license must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Residency in California is not a requirement to become licensed in the state.

Fingerprints must be submitted for a criminal background check. Fingerprint cards are provided to all applicants with the original license application.

No prior real estate experience is necessary to obtain a California salesperson license.

Applicants must fulfill the following prelicense education requirements:
Three real estate courses (three semester-units or four quarter-units at the college level at an institution accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.) The three courses must include:
Real Estate Principles
Real Estate Practices
Plus, one course from the following list:
Business Law
Computer Applications in Real Estate
Common Interests Developments
Escrows
General Accounting
Legal Aspects of Real Estate
Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
Real Estate Appraisal
Property Management
Real Estate Finance
Real Estate Economics
Real Estate Office Administration

California Real Estate License Requirements

California Real Estate License Requirements

Upon completing the prelicense education requirements, applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70% within 18 months of completing the prelicense education course. The exam consists of 150 multiple choice questions with a 3 hour 15-minute time limit.

A California salesperson license application must be submitted within one year of passing the exam. Proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in California must also be submitted.

First-time California salesperson licensees must fulfill the following post license education requirements:
Applicants who applied for a salesperson license prior to 10/1/2007 and are renewing the license for the first time must complete five separate three-hour continuing education courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management.
Applicants who applied for a salesperson license after 10/1/2007 and are renewing the license for the first time must complete 45 clock hours of continuing education courses, which must include:
Five separate three-hour courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management.
All applicants must also complete at least 18 clock hours in consumer protection courses.
Remaining clock hours may be related to consumer protection or consumer service courses.

After the first renewal period, all California salesperson licensees must complete 45 clock hours of continuing education courses consisting of either 15 hours of continuing education courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management or one 8 hour survey course in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management. All applicants must also complete at least 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses. Remaining clock hours may be related to consumer protection or consumer service courses.

Members of the California State Bar are exempt from the college-level course requirements.
Licensees who are 70 years of age or older and have been “licensees in good standing” for 30 continuous years in California are exempt from the continuing education requirements.

California is a non-reciprocal licensing state.

Fees to obtain a California salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $60
Salesperson License Fee: $245
Fingerprint Fee: $49


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Applicants seeking a California broker license must be at least 18 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Residency in California is not a requirement to become a licensed broker in the state, although a broker must maintain a California business address if engaging in business in California.

Fingerprints must be submitted for a criminal background check. Fingerprint cards are provided to all applicants with the original license application.

At least two years of full-time real estate experience during the last five years is required.

California broker license applicants must complete the following prelicense education requirements:
Complete 8 college-level real estate courses, which include:
Legal Aspects of Real Estate
Real Estate Appraisal
Real Estate Practices
Real Estate Finance
Real Estate Economics or Accounting

Plus, three courses from the following list:
Real Estate Principles
Business Law
Property Management
Escrow
Real Estate Office Administration
Mortgage Loan Brokering and Lending
Advanced Legal Aspects of Real Estate
Advanced Real Estate Finance
Advanced Real Estate Appraisal
Computer Applications in Real Estate
Common Interest Developments

After completing the prelicense education requirements, applicants must pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 75% within 18 months of completing the prelicense education course. The exam consists of 200 multiple choice questions with a 5 hour time limit.

A California broker license application must be within one year of passing the exam.

First-time California broker licensees must fulfill the following post license education requirements:
Applicants who applied for a broker license prior to 10/1/2007 and are renewing the license for the first time must complete five separate three-hour continuing education courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management.
Applicants who applied for a broker license after 10/1/2007 and are renewing the license for the first time must complete 45 clock hours of continuing education courses, which must include:
Five separate three-hour courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management.
All applicants must also complete a minimum of 18 clock hours in consumer protection courses
Remaining clock hours may be related to consumer protection or consumer service courses.

After the first renewal period, all broker licensees must complete 45 clock hours of continuing education courses consisting of either 15 hours of continuing education courses in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management or one 8 hour survey course in Ethics, Agency, Trust Fund Handling, Fair Housing and Risk Management. All applicants must also complete at least 18 clock hours of consumer protection courses. Remaining clock hours may be related to consumer protection or consumer service courses.

An applicant with a four-year degree from an accredited college may be exempt from the two-year salesperson experience requirement.Members of the California State Bar are exempt from the college-level course requirements.
Licensees who are 70 years of age or older and have been “licensees in good standing” for 30 continuous years in California are exempt from the continuing education requirements.

California is a non-reciprocal licensing states.

Fees to obtain a California broker license include:
Exam Fee: $95
Broker License Fee: $300
Fingerprint Fee: $49


References:

State of California: California Bureau of Real Estate: Taking the Exam: http://www.dre.ca.gov/examinees/TakingExam.html

State of California: Bureau of Real Estate: Fingerprint Requirements: http://www.dre.ca.gov/Licensees/Fingerprint.html

State of California: Bureau of Real Estate: Out-Of-State Applicants: http://www.dre.ca.gov/examinees/outofstate.html

State of California: Bureau of Real Estate: Continuing Education Requirements: http://www.dre.ca.gov/licensees/CERequirements.html

State of California: Bureau of Real Estate: Requirements to Apply for a Real Estate Broker License: http://www.dre.ca.gov/examinees/RequirementsBroker.html

State of California: Bureau of Real Estate: Requirements to Apply for a Real Estate Salesperson License: http://www.dre.ca.gov/examinees/requirementssales.html

State of California: Bureau of Real Estate: Fees: http://www.dre.ca.gov/licensees/fees.html#examination


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *