Alaska Real Estate License Requirements

The Alaska Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Alaska. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Alaska are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Applicants seeking an Alaska salesperson license must be at least 19 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicants must disclose if he or she has been convicted of a felony or any other crime, has had a real estate license or any professional license revoked or subject to restriction or has had a fidelity bond denied or revoked. Applicants must also disclose if he or she is in arrears on child support or is in default on a student loan.

No prior real estate experience is necessary to obtain an Alaska salesperson license.

Applicants must complete 40 classroom hours of an approved pre-licensing education course.

Alaska Real Estate License Requirements

Alaska Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the required pre-license education courses, the applicant must pass the state and national salesperson exam with a minimum score of 75%. Applicants have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

An Alaska salesperson license application must be submitted within 6 months of passing the exam and within 18 months of completing the prelicense education course. Proof of sponsorship by a licensed broker in Alaska must also be submitted.

All first-time Alaska salesperson licensees must complete 30 hours of post license education within the first year of licensure (must be completed in addition to the continuing education requirements).

After the first renewal period, all licensees must complete 20 hours of continuing education courses during each two year renewal period, which must include:
8 hour continuing core course in real estate practices and law.
12 hours of continuing education courses in elective real estate topics.

Alaska is a non-reciprocal licensing state.

Fees to obtain an Alaska salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $100
Application Fee: $125
License Fee: $450
Recovery Fund Fee: $30


ASSOCIATE BROKER or BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

Applicants seeking an Alaska associate broker or broker license must be at least 21 years old and be a U.S. citizen or alien authorized to work in the United States.

Although no official criminal background check is required, applicants must disclose if he or she has been convicted of a felony or any other crime, has had a real estate license or any professional license revoked or subject to restriction or has had a fidelity bond denied or revoked. Applicants must also disclose if he or she is in arrears on child support or is in default on a student loan.

At least two years of real estate experience within the last 36 months is required.

Applicants must complete 15 classroom hours of broker upgrade education to fulfill the prelicense education requirements.

Upon completing the prelicense education requirements, the applicant must pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 75%. Applicants have a total of four hours to complete the exam.

An Alaska broker license application must be submitted within 6 months of passing the exam and within 18 months of completing the prelicense education course.

All first-time licensees must complete 30 hours of postlicense education within the first year of licensure (must be completed in addition to the continuing education requirements).

After the first renewal period, all licensees must complete 20 hours of continuing education courses during each 2 year renewal period, which must include:
8 hour continuing core course in real estate practices and law.
12 hours of continuing education courses in elective real estate topics.

Alaska is a non-reciprocal licensing state.

Fees to obtain an Alaska associate broker or broker license include:
Exam Fee: $100
Application Fee: $125
License Fee: $450
Recovery Fund Fee: $30


References:

Alaska Real Estate Candidate Handbook: March 2013: http://www.asisvcs.com/publications/pdf/092200.pdf

State of Alaska: Real Estate Broker by Examination Application: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/Portals/5/pub/rec4148.pdf

State of Alaska: Real Estate Salesperson License by Examination Application: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/portals/5/pub/rec4179.pdf

State of Alaska: Real Estate Commission: FAQ: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/RealEstateCommission/ApplicantsLicensees/FrequentlyAskedQuestions.aspx

State of Alaska: Real Estate Commission: Fee Schedule: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/RealEstateCommission/ApplicantsLicensees/FeeSchedule.aspx

State of Alaska: Real Estate Commission: Applicants & Licenses: http://commerce.alaska.gov/dnn/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/RealEstateCommission/ApplicantsLicensees.aspx


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *