Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

The Alabama Real Estate Commission oversees all real estate matters in the state of Alabama. The types of real estate licenses the commission currently issues are salesperson and broker licenses.

The requirements to become a real estate agent [salesperson] or broker in Alabama are as follows:

SALESPERSON LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for an Alabama salesperson license, applicants must be at least 19 years old, be a U.S. citizen or an alien authorized to work in the United States and provide proof of residency in a U.S. State.

Applicants must also undergo a criminal background check.

No real estate experience is necessary to obtain an Alabama salesperson license.

Prelicense education requirements are as follows: applicants must have a high school diploma or GED and complete an approved 60 clock hour prelicense education course.

Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

Alabama Real Estate License Requirements

After completing the required prelicense eduction courses, applicants must pass the state and national salesperson exam with a minimum score of 70%. The national portion of the exam consists of 100 questions. The state portion consists of 40 questions. Applicants have a total of 3.5 hours to complete the exam and must pass the exam within 12 months of completing the prelicense education course, otherwise the course must be retaken.

An Alabama salesperson license application must be submitted within 90 days of passing the exam.

All Alabama salesperson licensees must complete a 30 hour post license training course within the first 12 months of licensure in order to be issued an original license. The course must be completed and original license issued within the first 6 months in order to maintain an active license.

For the second and subsequent license renewals, licensees must complete 15 hours of continuing education courses every 2 years. These courses include:
3 clock hours of Risk Management: Level 1
3 clock hours of Risk Management: Level 2
9 clock hours in commission-approved courses

If an applicant holds an active license in a reciprocal state, the applicant may obtain a reciprocal license by doing the following:
Complete a 6 hour course in Alabama real estate law.
Pass the state portion of the salesperson exam.
Submit a salesperson license application along with a Certificate of Licensure issued within 120 days from the real estate commission the applicant is licensed in.

Alabama has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Arkansas
Colorado
Florida
Georgia
Iowa
Kentucky
Louisiana
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
New Hampshire
North Carolina
Oklahoma
Oregon
South Dakota
Tennessee
West Virginia
Washington
Wyoming

Fees to obtain an Alabama salesperson license include:
Exam Fee: $75
Salesperson License Fee: $175
Renewal Fee: $175


BROKER LICENSE REQUIREMENTS:

To be eligible for an Alabama broker license, applicants must be at least 19 years old, be a U.S. citizen or an alien authorized to work in the United States and provide proof of residency in a U.S. State.

Applicants must also undergo a criminal background check.

Broker license applicants must have an active real estate salesperson license in any state for at least 24 of the 36 months prior to applying for the broker license.

Prelicense education requirements are as follows: applicants must have a high school diploma or GED and complete an approved 60 clock hour prelicense course.

Applicants must also pass the state and national broker exam with a minimum score of 70%. The national portion of the exam consists of 10 simulation questions with a 2.5 hour time limit. The state portion consists of 40 questions with a 60 minute time limit. Applicants have 12 months to pass the exam after completing the pre-license course, otherwise the course must be retaken.

An Alabama broker license application must be submitted within 90 days of passing the exam.

All Alabama broker licensees must complete 15 hours of continuing education courses every 2 years. These courses include:
3 clock hours of Risk Management: Level 1
3 clock hours of Risk Management: Level 2
9 clock hours in commission-approved courses

If an applicant holds an active license in another state, the applicant may obtain a reciprocal license by doing the following:
Complete a six hour course on Alabama real estate law.
Pass the state portion of the real estate broker exam.
Submit an application for a Alabama broker license along with a Certificate of Licensure issued within 120 days from the real estate commission the applicant is licensed in.

Alabama has reciprocity agreements with the following states:
Arkansas
Colorado
Florida
Georgia
Iowa
Kentucky
Louisiana
Mississippi
Missouri
Nebraska
New Hampshire
North Carolina
Oklahoma
Oregon
South Dakota
Tennessee
West Virginia
Washington
Wyoming

Fees to obtain an Alabama broker license include:
Exam Fee: $75
Broker License Fee: $95
Renewal Fee: $95


 References:

Alabama Real Estate Examination Program Candidate Handbook: http://www.goamp.com/Publications/candidateHandbooks/ALREP-handbook.pdf

Alabama Real Estate Commission: Course Requirements: http://www.arec.alabama.gov/professionals/education/course-requirements

Alabama Real Estate Commission: Sample Application for Real Estate Broker License: http://arec.alabama.gov/images/uploads/pdf/AL_BROKER_PASSING.pdf

Alabama Real Estate Commission: Sample Application for Real Estate Salesperson Temporary License: http://arec.alabama.gov/images/uploads/pdf/al_sales_passing.pdf

Alabama Real Estate Commission: http://arec.alabama.gov/consumer/become-a-licensed-real-estate-professional


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *